WRAL’s Cullen Browder investigates highest-kill shelter in NC

Thursday night at 6 pm, WRAL will air an investigative report on the killingest kill shelter in North Carolina. It will be followed at  by an “online event” from 6:30 to 7  pm, during which you can to hear what reporter Cullen Browder has to say about the story and submit questions or comments.

For people not in the WRAL broadcast area, the newscast can be watched live or after the fact from the WRAL home page.

UPDATE: You can read the article and watch the report here.

10 Comments

Filed under Montgomery County, NC county/municipal pounds

10 responses to “WRAL’s Cullen Browder investigates highest-kill shelter in NC

  1. shannon lack

    thanks for posting this.

  2. danielle miller

    My loving, family 2 year old dog Tucker was brought to the WAKE COUNTY Animal Shelter yesterday in hopes to finding a better home for him. We had to move to a small apartment and knew he needed to run and have a big yard. The Shelter greeted us with smiles, and appeared on the outside to be a great choice. They then killed my dog in less than an hour of him being there. I called several times that hour to check on his status, and even asked to come get him when she informed me they were about to euthanize him. This system is horrible. They killed an innocent dog that I expressed I would have gladly taken back before anything were to ever go wrong. I loved him and this shelter killed him faster than I could imagine. Do not believe their website advertisement that glamorizes adoption. If anyone knows anything I can do, any group I can join, to help stop this please let me know!

    • Hi Danielle, I’m so sorry this happened. Unfortunately, it is all too common at kill pounds like Wake County. People believe that the word “shelter” means it’s a place of protection for animals. Unfortunately, you found out the hard way that it is not.

      • danielle miller

        Thank you Lisa. I have been a mess all day. We got his body back from the Wake County shelter and buried him this morning. I also spoke my peace with the director of the Wake County shelter while I was there. I begged her to at least allow an owner to be informed if their pet is going to be euthanized before doing so to save a few more lives, if it is not an option to stop the mass murdering. I will do whatever I can to spread the word so everyone possible knows that these are in fact “kill pounds” and not protection. The false advertisement needs to end for those like me and my family who were naïve to what shelters are really like behind those doors.

  3. Nancy

    “My reaction is, they’re not even trying,” she said.
    Lisa I just wanted to let you know that the men who work @ the shelter in Montgomery County work extremely hard and TRY VERY HARD to take the best care of the animals they can with what they have to work with. I am personally aware of 2 dogs that were not euthanized because they currently live in my home! One of my dogs was given up by it’s previous owner which meant that he could have been killed right away but the officers knew I was looking for a big dog and called me as soon as he came in. I am aware of at least several other dogs that live in loving homes because the Animal Control officers have taken their own time to find homes for them. I live fairly close to the shelter and would be happy to go by there regularly and let you know what dogs are scheduled to be killed so you can help too. Just let me know where to send the information.

  4. Alan

    Thanks for this post. Is there any way we can help to donate to the cause of building that adoption center mentioned in the story?

  5. Pingback: Foothills Humane Society is a shelter to love | FixNC

Leave a Reply

